Reed awarded 29th Morris Trophy

Center Alex Mack of California and defensive end Nick Reed of Oregon have been named winners of the 29th annual Morris Trophy. Mack becomes just the third offensive lineman, and the first since Washington's Lincoln Kennedy in 1991-92, to be named a two-time winner of the award.
The Morris Trophy is a unique award given to the outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pacific-10 Conference. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, which has the starting offensive linemen in the Conference voting for the defensive winner and vice versa. It is truly a players' award.
Reed, a 6-foot-2, 255-pound senior from Trabuco Canyon, Calif., has been selected first-team All-Pac-10 by the Conference head coaches for the last two years and is a first-team All-America selection by the Walter Camp Foundation this year. Reed had a spectacular senior season as he led the Pac-10 in quarterback sacks with 13 and in tackles for loss with 19.5. With Reed as the leader, Oregon led the Pac-10 in sacks with 38. Like Mack, Reed is a first-team Pac-10 All- Academic selection boasting a 3.44 grade-point average in History. He also served as a Duck captain this season.
Mack and Reed will be presented their awards at a luncheon at the prestigious Washington Athletic Club in Seattle in January, 2009. The Morris Trophy is sponsored by the Morris Family of Woodway, Washington, and the Washington Athletic Club.