Four Ducks chosen All-Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- University of Oregon seniors Patrick Chung, Nick Reed and Max Unger, and junior Jairus Byrd, were named to the All-Pacific Conference first team, conference officials announced Monday.
UO's three seniors - all captains this season - are repeat first-teamers, while Byrd moved up to the top squad after being named honorable mention the past two seasons.
Chung, a rover from Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., was a double first-team choice at defensive back and special teams specialist. He ranked third on the Ducks in tackles this season with 82. Reed, a defensive end from Trabuco Canyon, Calif., finished the regular season as the Pac-10 sacks leader with 13.0.
Unger, a four-year starter from Honaunau, Hawai'i, keyed Oregon's conference-leading rushing attack from the center position. Byrd, a cornerback from Clayton, Mo., joined Chung in the Pac-10 defensive backfield after placing second in the conference in pass breakups (18) and total interceptions (4).
Oregon's five awards on the first team were tied for the second most with Oregon State. USC lead all Pac-10 sides with eight selections.
Unger was the only first team player from the Pac-10's leading team in scoring offense, total offense and rushing offense to be picked on that side of the ball.
Junior tight end Ed Dickson, senior running back Jeremiah Johnson, and senior left tackle Fenuki Tupou made the second team.
Ducks receiving honorable mention included junior running back LeGarrette Blount, senior linebacker Jerome Boyd, senior right guard Mark Lewis, senior wide reciever Terence Scott, senior punter Josh Syria, junior defensive end Will Tukuafu and junior safety T.J. Ward.
The All-Pac-10 teams are selected by the Pac-10 head football coaches.